top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's picturealexrcarson15

Journal Entry #2

My mission was to build an app that would be the premiere platform for viewing images of the Swedish musician Bladee. He often only posts photos of himself where his face is obscured, so clear photos with his face in it are in high demand among fans. I started by building a home page, which has three buttons/sections. There is an "Old Bladee Photos" button, "New Bladee Photos" button, and a "Bladee Memes" button. The home page also has a background image that clearly shows Bladee's face and a picture of the iconic "THANK YOU HAVE A NICE DAY" print that is commonly seen on Chinese food bags. The next step was building the actual pages of photo archives. For each page I had to upload the image to their server, drag the image icon onto the page, then designate which image from the server would represent that icon. At first I couldn't figure out how to resize photos so I was only uploading small files so they would be fully visible. I eventually figured out how to resize by pixels or percentage. The system for resizing was a little wonky and you can tell which pictures have been resized. For each tab I uploaded about 5-7 images. Then I tried to test the app on the emulator and it wouldn't launch, so I had my roommate try it on his Android. To my excitement the app launched but I had foolishly forgotten some key elements, such as a function for the buttons and the ability to scroll. So then I went into the blocks section and set up commands for each button to go to their designated page when clicked. After that I had to go to the page properties for each page and click the scrollable box, which honestly should have been checked by default. I also added a button to each page that would take you back to the home page. Moving forward I would like to add Bladee music to the site. Below are some screenshots of my app being built in App Inventor. I did have trouble with the emulator but after a full reinstall it seems to be functioning normally.





6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page